Monday, October 26, 2015

Review - The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

SUMMARY 
La Vie En Rose
Bookshop owner Sarah Smith has been offered the opportunity to exchange bookshops with her new Parisian friend for 6 months! And saying yes is a no-brainer – after all, what kind of a romantic would turn down a trip to Paris…for Christmas?


Even if it does mean leaving the irresistible Ridge Warner behind, Sarah’s sure she’s in for the holiday of a lifetime – complete with all the books she can read!


Imagining days wandering around Shakespeare & Co, munching on croissants, sipping café au laits and watching the snow fall on the Champs-Élysées Sarah boards the plane.


But will her dream of a Parisian Happily-Ever-After come true? Or will Sarah realise that the dream of a Christmas fairytale in the city of love isn’t quite as rosy in reality…


A deliciously feel-good Christmas romance perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Julia Williams.


MY REVIEW 
Let me begin by saying how much I LOVE this cover!  I would have to say it's my favorite of 2015 to date!  The colors are amazing, Sarah looks amazing and the Paris back drop couldn't be more beautiful.  As I have stated in some of my tweets, after reading this piece I am planning a trip to Paris!
The details that Rebecca used in regards to the city alone paint the most amazing picture and I truly felt as though I was there and could imagine everything that Sarah was seeing!

I am jealous of Ms. Sarah!  She is a book shop owner!  That would truly be my dream job!  And to top it all off, she gets to do an exchange with her dear friend Sophie in Paris!  Sophie needs to get away from the city of love after her relationship goes to shambles and she no longer can bare seeing the new "happy couple" daily.  After nearly 1 second, if that, Sarah says YES!  She will take over Sophie's book shop for 6 months and Sophie will travel to Ashford to run hers!

Sarah can't believe that she actually stepped out of comfort zone and said yes?  She has never been on a plane let alone out of the country?  What is she thinking?  Paris at Christmas, who would say no?

After saying yes, she wonders how she will tell Ridge?  What will he think of her sudden change of plans?  He travels the world over, it shouldn't be an issue, or will it?

So many sites to see, and 6 months to do it, it should be a breeze right?  Well you would think, but not so much for this new book shop temporary manager in Paris France!  When first arriving at the shop, she is thrown right to the wolves, I mean customers.  She was hoping to catch a bit of sleep but these customers won't have that!

The employees, they are very rough around the edges, and are walking all over poor Sarah daily.  She needs to realize being nice Sarah from Ashford will not get her anywhere.  Will she turn around and head home or will she learn to be the manager that Sophie believes she can be?

She is having a hard time focusing on the craziness of the store, when her knight in shining armor, Ridge, has been rather absent from her life.  They keep missing each other calls, or no calls for weeks at a time...Will their relationship make it through this test?

This story is an intricate web of story lines that are all perfectly developed and told to the reader.  You really feel like you are right there with her every step of her journey.

Pour a glass of wine (or two), sit by the fire and enjoy!  

WINE SELECTION 
I am going to pick Perrier Jouet Pink Champagne, sounds divine!  


MY RATING 
I rate this amazing story, 5 glasses of wine!  It's one of my top books for the year!  Congrats Rebecca on yet another amazing story!  I can't wait for the next one!  Cheers!